Our beauty blogger of the month, Ella Ryder, talks soft hair.

While some are blessed with a silky smooth mane, some of us struggle to keep hair feeling soft and manageable. I personally have a lot of fine hair which is naturally quite wavy. It was quite damaged from highlights over the summer and now having gone back to the dark side, I’ve been trying to repair my hair by giving it the nourishment that it needs (and deserves)!

I’m quite fussy about what products I use because I don’t like to wash my hair everyday and I find that a lot of shampoos and styling products can weigh my hair down. I’ve been using two products recently that have helped keep my hair feeling like it hasn’t been put through its paces.

macadami_weightless_moisture_shampooThe first is the Macadamia Professional Weightless Moisture Shampoo, £18.90, 300 ml. It’s colour-safe and cruelty, sulphate, paraben and gluten-free. This particular formula is designed to cleanse the scalp and fine hair, promoting lift, body and volume while retaining hair colour. Pretty much my perfect product!

The ingredients are made up of an exclusive Pro Oil Complex of Macadamia and Argan Oils to help strengthen and repair the hair, while Avocado and Walnut Oils nourish and hydrate. It smells delicious, with a delicate sweet pecan fragrance too. The Pro Oil Complex is a lightweight combination and you can really notice (or not as the name would suggest). When I use this my hair feels clean and bouncy, so I recommend this for anyone with fine hair who wants a natural lift. I have my eye on the Deep Repair Masque next…

After washing and drying my hair I like to use a serum to help tame any flyaways and add a 42020_original_treatment_25ml_rgblittle shine. My favourite product at the moment for this is the MoroccanOil Treatment Original, £13.35, 25ml. I have the travel size but I’ll definitely be investing in the larger one when I run out. You can use this on wet or dry hair; I prefer it on dry hair because I can tell how much I need without overusing (it goes a long way). I was a bit sceptical before I bought this as there was a lot of hype around it, but I was pleasantly surprised. As well as keeping my hair in a good healthy condition, it smells incredible – something I didn’t really expect. I would call this product a green juice for your hair!

A couple of extra tips to keep hair soft and prevent damage is to use snag-free hair bands or a clip to keep hair off your face. A good quality wide-tooth comb like this one  is also ideal for when you’re brushing wet hair. Follow these tips and I guarantee your hair will feel so much healthier in no time.